# Atapa for Mac: facts

> Atapa is a Mac menu bar app that warms and dims the screen from daylight (6500K) to deep red (500K) through the evening. It works on M5 Pro and M5 Max MacBook Pros, where apps that tint through a gamma table do nothing. It costs $12 once for all of your own Macs, with a 14-day trial and a 14-day refund. It has no account and no network code. It requires macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Kevin Hofmann makes it at SOULRISE LLC.

Every line carries its source and the date it was read or measured. Re-check competitor rows before quoting them; a "re-check before launch" note means the value was seen on that date and may have moved.

## Atapa

| Fact | Value | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (USD, once) | 12 | docs/PRODUCT.md §9 | 2026-10-29 |
| Launch price (USD, first 14 days of sale) | 9 | docs/PRODUCT.md §9 | 2026-10-29 |
| Download size (MB) | 3.3 | stat build/Atapa-1.0.dmg | 2026-11-03 |
| Trial | 14 days, no card | docs/PRODUCT.md §9 | 2026-10-29 |
| Refund | 14 days, no questions | docs/PRODUCT.md §9 | 2026-10-29 |
| Requirements | macOS 14 or later, Apple silicon | Package.swift, lipo (arm64) | 2026-10-29 |
| Range | 6500K to 500K, dims below the hardware minimum | the app | 2026-11-03 |
| Without a key from day 29 | warmth limited to 2700K; everything else keeps working | Sources/AtapaCore/License.swift | 2026-11-03 |
| Network code in the app | none | the app has no URLSession | 2026-11-03 |
| M5 bug | FB22273730 (duplicates FB22273782, FB23444164); gamma tables accepted and never applied on M5 Pro/Max | https://developer.apple.com/forums/thread/819331 | 2026-10-26 (macOS 27.2) |
| BetterDisplay note | still unfixed; compositor-filter workaround | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay/discussions/5217 | 2026-10-13 |
| Screenshots | the tint is not in screenshots with the color matrix | docs/RESEARCH.md §12 | 2026-10-28 |
| Melanopic weights (P3 white) | blue 0.72, green 0.28, red 0 | docs/RESEARCH.md §13, CIE S 026:2018 | 2026-10-27 |
| Reduction at 2700K and 90% brightness | about 82% less | docs/RESEARCH.md §13, CIE S 026:2018 | 2026-10-27 |

## Eye test on a 14-inch MacBook Pro, M5 Pro, macOS 27.2, built-in panel (2026-10-29)

| App | What we saw | Result | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| f.lux 42.2 | Says it is on. The panel does not change. | No change | docs/evidence/flux-m5pro-2026-10-29.png |
| Sundown 1.6.4 | "Warming isn't available on this Mac yet." | Not available | docs/evidence/sundown-m5pro-2026-10-29.png |
| Night Shift | Mild orange at More Warm. Never red. | Works, mild | docs/evidence/nightshift-m5pro-2026-10-29.png |
| Atapa 1.0 | 6500K to 500K, readable deep red. | Works | the app itself |

## Other apps

| Fact | Value | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| f.lux: price | Free (donation asked) | https://justgetflux.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| f.lux: warmest setting | 1900K daytime setting per its quick-start page; Ember preset about 1200K per competitor posts | https://justgetflux.com/ | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| f.lux: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | No change on the built-in panel | docs/RESEARCH.md §1; own eye test on a 14-inch M5 Pro, macOS 27.2 | 2026-10-29 (f.lux 42.2 said it was on; the panel did not change. Also named in Apple thread 819331.) |
| f.lux: readable red at 500K | No | https://justgetflux.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| f.lux: dims below the minimum | No | https://justgetflux.com/ | 2026-10-28 (A brightness slider is a feature request on its forum.) |
| f.lux: Shortcuts + Focus filter | No | https://justgetflux.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| f.lux: network use | Daily update check, per Sundown | https://trysundown.com/blog | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| f.lux: Windows | Yes | https://justgetflux.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| f.lux: last update | Mac 42.2 seen 2026-10-29; last Mac release date per Sundown 2023-05-17 | https://trysundown.com/blog | 2026-10-29 (re-check before launch) |
| f.lux: what we saw on the M5 Pro | Says it is on. The panel does not change. | docs/evidence/flux-m5pro-2026-10-29.png | 2026-10-29 (f.lux 42.2, the latest Mac build. The Daytime slider read 2700K at its lowest.) |
| Night Shift: price | Built into macOS | https://support.apple.com/en-us/ht207513 | 2026-10-28 |
| Night Shift: warmest setting | Apple doesn't publish it; independent measurements put the warmest setting around 2700–3000K | https://circadianshield.com/vs/night-shift | 2026-10-28 |
| Night Shift: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | Works. Mild orange at More Warm, never red. | docs/RESEARCH.md §1; own eye test on a 14-inch M5 Pro, macOS 27.2 | 2026-10-29 |
| Night Shift: readable red at 500K | No red setting | https://support.apple.com/en-us/ht207513 | 2026-10-28 |
| Night Shift: dims below the minimum | No | https://support.apple.com/en-us/ht207513 | 2026-10-28 |
| Night Shift: Shortcuts + Focus filter | Control Center toggle, schedule | https://support.apple.com/en-us/ht207513 | 2026-10-28 |
| Night Shift: network use | Part of macOS | https://support.apple.com/en-us/ht207513 | 2026-10-28 |
| Night Shift: Windows | No | https://support.apple.com/en-us/ht207513 | 2026-10-28 |
| Night Shift: last update | Ships with macOS | https://support.apple.com/en-us/ht207513 | 2026-10-28 |
| Night Shift: what we saw on the M5 Pro | Mild orange at More Warm. Never red. | docs/evidence/nightshift-m5pro-2026-10-29.png | 2026-10-29 |
| Sundown: price | $79 lifetime, $39 a year or $4.99 a month; 7-day trial that asks for a card | https://trysundown.com/ | 2026-10-28 (Prices on its own posts disagree; this is the checkout seen in 1.6.4 on 2026-10-29.) |
| Sundown: warmest setting | 500K claimed | https://trysundown.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Sundown: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | Not available. Its own app: "Warming isn't available on this Mac yet." | docs/evidence/sundown-m5pro-2026-10-29.png | 2026-10-29 (Sundown 1.6.4. They say they are working on it; re-check after each Sundown update.) |
| Sundown: readable red at 500K | Not described | https://trysundown.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Sundown: dims below the minimum | Flicker-free mode dims through the gamma table, per its blog | https://trysundown.com/blog | 2026-10-28 (macOS ignores gamma tables on M5 Pro and M5 Max.) |
| Sundown: Shortcuts + Focus filter | Not listed | https://trysundown.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Sundown: network use | "Zero telemetry" per its site | https://trysundown.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Sundown: Windows | In progress, per its site | https://trysundown.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Sundown: last update | Version 1.6.4 seen 2026-10-29 | https://trysundown.com/ | 2026-10-29 |
| Sundown: what we saw on the M5 Pro | Warming isn't available on this Mac yet. Your Mac's display ignores the usual way apps warm the screen, so for now Sundown leaves your screen's color, brightness, Night Shift and True Tone as they are. We're working on it. | docs/evidence/sundown-m5pro-2026-10-29.png | 2026-10-29 (Sundown 1.6.4, quoted verbatim from its own window.) |
| CircadianShield: price | $47 once, up to 2 computers, no free trial, 30-day refund | https://circadianshield.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| CircadianShield: warmest setting | 1800K | https://circadianshield.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| CircadianShield: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | "M5 has not been tested yet" (its own site); lists M1 through M4 Max | https://circadianshield.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| CircadianShield: readable red at 500K | Not described | https://circadianshield.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| CircadianShield: dims below the minimum | Not described | https://circadianshield.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| CircadianShield: Shortcuts + Focus filter | Not listed | https://circadianshield.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| CircadianShield: network use | Anonymous usage statistics, off by default | https://circadianshield.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| CircadianShield: Windows | Yes, Windows 10 or later | https://circadianshield.com/ | 2026-10-28 |
| CircadianShield: last update | Not dated on its site | https://circadianshield.com/ | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Solace: price | $4.99 once | https://theodorehq.com/solace | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Solace: warmest setting | Not published | https://theodorehq.com/solace | 2026-10-28 |
| Solace: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | Not stated on its site | https://theodorehq.com/solace | 2026-10-28 |
| Solace: readable red at 500K | Not described | https://theodorehq.com/solace | 2026-10-28 |
| Solace: dims below the minimum | Not described | https://theodorehq.com/solace | 2026-10-28 |
| Solace: Shortcuts + Focus filter | Not listed | https://theodorehq.com/solace | 2026-10-28 |
| Solace: network use | Not stated | https://theodorehq.com/solace | 2026-10-28 |
| Solace: Windows | No. macOS 13 or later | https://theodorehq.com/solace | 2026-10-28 |
| Solace: last update | Not dated on its site | https://theodorehq.com/solace | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Iris: price | ≈$2 a month or $10–15 licences | https://iristech.co/ | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch; the pricing page moved) |
| Iris: warmest setting | Not published as a kelvin figure | https://iristech.co/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Iris: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | Not stated on its site | https://iristech.co/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Iris: readable red at 500K | Not described | https://iristech.co/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Iris: dims below the minimum | Brightness control via software | https://iristech.co/ | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Iris: Shortcuts + Focus filter | Not listed | https://iristech.co/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Iris: network use | Licence activation online | https://iristech.co/ | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Iris: Windows | Yes | https://iristech.co/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Iris: last update | No Mac update since 2022, per Sundown | https://trysundown.com/blog | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Lunar: price | Free tier and Pro | https://lunar.fyi/ | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Lunar: warmest setting | Not a warmth product | https://lunar.fyi/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Lunar: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | Named in Apple thread 819331: color-table adjustments no longer apply | https://developer.apple.com/forums/thread/819331 | 2026-10-28 |
| Lunar: readable red at 500K | No | https://lunar.fyi/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Lunar: dims below the minimum | Yes, brightness is its job | https://lunar.fyi/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Lunar: Shortcuts + Focus filter | Shortcuts, per its site | https://lunar.fyi/ | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Lunar: network use | Not checked | https://lunar.fyi/ | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Lunar: Windows | No | https://lunar.fyi/ | 2026-10-28 |
| Lunar: last update | Not checked | https://lunar.fyi/ | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| BetterDisplay: price | Free tier and Pro | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| BetterDisplay: warmest setting | Not a warmth product | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay | 2026-10-28 |
| BetterDisplay: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | Named in the Apple thread; its maintainer moved image adjustments to a compositor filter on 2026-10-13 | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay/discussions/5217 | 2026-10-28 |
| BetterDisplay: readable red at 500K | No | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay | 2026-10-28 |
| BetterDisplay: dims below the minimum | Yes, display configuration is its job | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay | 2026-10-28 |
| BetterDisplay: Shortcuts + Focus filter | Not checked | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| BetterDisplay: network use | Not checked | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| BetterDisplay: Windows | No | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay | 2026-10-28 |
| BetterDisplay: last update | Maintainer note 2026-10-13 | https://github.com/waydabber/BetterDisplay/discussions/5217 | 2026-10-28 |
| Abendrot: price | Free, open source | docs/PRODUCT.md §1 | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Abendrot: warmest setting | Not published | docs/PRODUCT.md §1 | 2026-10-28 |
| Abendrot: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | Little published testing on M5 | docs/GEO-AEO-AUDIT.md §3 | 2026-10-29 |
| Abendrot: readable red at 500K | Not described | docs/PRODUCT.md §1 | 2026-10-28 |
| Abendrot: dims below the minimum | Not described | docs/PRODUCT.md §1 | 2026-10-28 |
| Abendrot: Shortcuts + Focus filter | Not listed | docs/PRODUCT.md §1 | 2026-10-28 |
| Abendrot: network use | Not checked | docs/PRODUCT.md §1 | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Abendrot: Windows | No | docs/PRODUCT.md §1 | 2026-10-28 |
| Abendrot: last update | Not checked | docs/PRODUCT.md §1 | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Gloam: price | Free, open source | https://github.com/Que-tin/gloam | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Gloam: warmest setting | About 1900K | docs/PRODUCT.md §2 | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Gloam: on M5 Pro/Max built-in display | Little published testing on M5 | docs/GEO-AEO-AUDIT.md §3 | 2026-10-29 |
| Gloam: readable red at 500K | Not described | https://github.com/Que-tin/gloam | 2026-10-28 |
| Gloam: dims below the minimum | Not described | https://github.com/Que-tin/gloam | 2026-10-28 |
| Gloam: Shortcuts + Focus filter | Not listed | https://github.com/Que-tin/gloam | 2026-10-28 |
| Gloam: network use | Update check, per docs/PRODUCT.md §7 | docs/PRODUCT.md §7 | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |
| Gloam: Windows | No | https://github.com/Que-tin/gloam | 2026-10-28 |
| Gloam: last update | First release 2026-10-18 | docs/PRODUCT.md §1 | 2026-10-28 (re-check before launch) |

## Company

| Fact | Value |
|---|---|
| Maker | Kevin Hofmann |
| Company | Soulrise LLC, a Florida limited liability company |
| Address | 2125 Biscayne Boulevard, STE 204 #13423, Miami, FL 33137, USA |
| Email | hello@atapa.app |
| Site | https://atapa.app |

Updated 2026-11-03.
